Watching and waiting

I recently visited my buddy Mark’s, Kingfisher hide to photograph what is probably the most photographed bird in the British Isles. I spent several hours watching the Kingfishers feeding, preening and at times interacting with each other. What struck me most was that as a photographer we get remarkable insights into the range of activities that our subjects go through everyday. To observe an animal from dawn until dusk, watching every moment, creates a unique perspective that you don’t get from ten minutes in a hide at a nature reserve or a walk through the woods. I often wonder how to pass the time in hides – I recently asked fellow photographers on Twitter what they do – reading, googling and even sleeping were the most common tweets. Spending hours in an uncomfortable hide isn’t for everyone – I still have aches in some funny places – but being able to witness behaviour so intimately is reward in itself. I still have a few thousand images to go through, but with or without images the experience was worth the discomfort

Leave a Reply

