How long?

How long to wait for a shot? That’s a question I seem to ask myself a lot when sat in my hide waiting for something to happen – or even just turn up. Recently I was leading a group on Mull where on the first fay we found a reeling Grasshopper Warbler in a nice location. Of the group all but one of us were pleased with the shots we had and moved on to focus on Short Eared Owls. One of my clients was determined to improve his shot and spent most mornings looking and listening for this elusive bird. Finally he was rewarded with stunning views of the Grasshopper Warbler singing in the morning sunshine.

When time is limited, and there is always something else that you think you should be photographing, the question is how long to wait for a shot? I learnt from Gary, over the course of a week, that persistence pays off. Well that’s what I kept telling myself.

2 thoughts on “How long?

Leave a Reply

